The Running Hath Begun

I should go look around again, because it’s past the 15th and I don’t know if I am a pacer for the Knoxville Marathon yet. I mean, I would “think” that I would be… but you had to fill out an application for this position. So just that fact doesn’t mean that it’s a gimme. Apparently there are enough people competing that they needed to have some process to weed out the LOSERS. Of course, anyone who is wanting to be a pacer at a marathon must be pretty crazy to start with. That is one of the many reasons that I would be PERFECT for the position. So vote for HIGGINS FOR PACER!

With everything else that is being chaotic in my life, my running has been taking second fiddle or rather being in East Tennessee second Banjo to everything else. Everyone should awe in the presence of My Lovely and Talented Wife and her ability to create a schedule… not only did she create one… she created a BUNCH and they all work together! WOO HOO. So that means that I need to get my running schedule submitted so that I can train for “stuff” this year.

I am not exactly sure what I am going to do. I have a few things that I want to do that are carry overs from previous years, so I may try to stick those in there. Not sure that I am going to be Gungho about doing Triathlons this year… don’t get me wrong, I am still going to do as many as I can, but I am not going to train specifically for them.

So I felt it wise on Thursday to start running again, just on the chance that I do get chosen to be a pacer. Right now, this would put me about 10 weeks out. So a little behind my normal schedule, but I did run 2 marathons in November, I needed to me let my body heal (that’s the story I am using). But going on Thursday evening was a 5 mile… interval style run. The innards (splits) of the run will be on my Buckeye Outdoor’s Training site… which you can find somewhere over there –>

Despite the fact that temperature was a balmy 20F with a wind chill of 10F, the cold dry air was a reminder that I hadn’t been running in a while, so instead of running the entire 5 miles at a leisurely pace, I ran the first whole mile, then walked the next 1/4 mile, then ran the next 3/4 mile, until the last mile, I walked the first 1/4 mile, then ran a slightly faster tempo pace, walked 1/4 mile then race at a tempo/race pace for the last 1/4 mile. It was pretty good. We’ll see how sore I am after the run, but I was thinking that Saturday morning, I might go 10ish or so… I need to ramp my mileage but I can’t do it too quickly or risk injury…

So know to go figure out “what” my schedule should be and see what races I can do this year!

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Running Hath Begun

  1. Samantha says:

    Wow…must be nice to just “go out” and do 5 or 10 LOL Andy’s PCO and I were talking tonight about how we used to be decent runners, then we landed on Guam and all of sudden not so much!

    So what pace group are you wanting to lead? Here’s hoping the vote goes your way! Get to running!

  2. ShirleyPerly says:

    Wow, I can’t believe they haven’t told you yet about being a pacer with the race not so far away. I guess they’re assuming everyone is in marathon shape and can do it on a moment’s notice. I hope you get to do it as I want to hear about it!!

  3. Susan says:

    Let me know about the schedule. I am all about the scheduling!

  4. Petra says:

    Yes am very interested in LATW’s schedules. Any tips on how to integrate with unschedulable husband?

    As for races – what do you think to http://www.towpathmarathon.net/? Not sure what the date is for 2009…

  5. darrell says:

    looks like you dived right back in.

    I, like you, have the Homer pic on the camera. Sooner or later I will get it downloaded.

Leave a Reply

