Kids Birthday Parties are

I get a nice 9 break from work but I will be travel to Phoenix AZ for MK Leadership with My Lovely and Talented Wife. So, we have given our Resourseful and Reliable Au Pair (although she’s not technically an au pair anymore… will have to think of a new name) the weekend off. I had expected to be able to get in a long run on Saturday Morning… forget that it was around 10F outside, I need to get on the ball with the Marathon training if I am going to be a Pacer (still no official word).

Saturday morning I figured out (i.e. was told) that she had the day off… and that for the immediate term, I had to go make breakfast. My Lovely and Talented Wife requested Peanut Butter Chip Pancakes… so off to make the Pancakes. I was a little bummed about not being able to get my run in, but it was my fault for not creating a schedule and seeing how it would match up with everyone else’s.

At some point during the day, I thought to myself… HEY, I could run home from the birthday party this afternoon. BRILLIANT! “Hey Honey, Can I run home after the party?”

“Sure…”

*fist pump* “Sweet”

The party was one The Elder’s friends from his “School when I was 4”. This was a classroom of other Asperger and PDD children who had qualified for services from Knox County. It was a Godsend! But, this year, the kids in that class when seperate ways. The Birthday Boy and The Elder are in the same school, but are in different circulums. The Birthday Party was a homecoming of sorts… all but one kid was there…

Birthday parties with kids on the Autism Spectrum are the best… you never know what you are going to get and what you have is going to change in 5 minutes. This makes taking pictures LOADS of fun. I have a ton of pictures to download from Stella and upload. It’s just working in the time to get that done… I still have to pack and stuff.

And so I ran home from the birthday party… I still have to map out the distance, but it was a decent run, despite been cold. Although 32F was MUCH warmer than what it was that morning… so I am not complain. Oh, did I mention that The Birthday Boy’s Dad can run a 2:28 marathon?

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in aspergers, Life In General, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kids Birthday Parties are

  1. Samantha says:

    Oh it was THAT kids party! 😉

    I’m boycotting kids parties. Well, not really. But I am going to be watchful of having ones for my kids after being blasted by a “friend” for having one for Jared when we’d only lived in CT 5 months.

    I digress…

    The pancakes sound great! And if in our house we were to ever attempt a schedule, it would never stick. Then again duty days change, underways get extended, etc. And its not like I actually “do” anything like your wife does.

  2. Petra says:

    This scheduling thing – so if you get your schedule in and it fits then those who don’t have to step up to the plate? Hmmmm. Amazingly organised I like it.

    Can’t see DH and myself doing it because DH goes white and sweaty at the thought of a schedule. I just went out for a 14miler yesterday and “forgot” my cellphone. So he was in charge.. And it was fine. But still .. I look at your wife and say “Go sister!”

  3. Susan says:

    Oh it’s Gray’s kid???? See, I listen (or try to).

    Arizona must be mighty warm. Enjoy it!

    P.S. You were right — I got TONS of baby clothes at my first shower.

  4. Marianna says:

    Did I miss something? Did you do a post on why your au pair is not an au pair anymore??

    M~

  5. ShirleyPerly says:

    Yeah, I missed that about the au pair too. But way to get your run in. That high temp is about our low temp and is WAY too cold for me!

Leave a Reply

