Not Yet Defeated

I should just go ahead and say, “I am injured.” Not something that I want to say, but rather something that I should admit with only 9 days before the Darlington Marathon. On the 14th, in the waning seconds of my one-and-done sparring match at the Taekwondo America National Tournament, something happened and my right hamstring became really really tight. So tight, that I think if you drew a bow across it, it would sound like a violin.

What is weird is that my hamstring hasn’t bothered me much, at all. I can walk, jump, sit in the car ride home, carry the kids, climb stairs, everything with the exception of bending. When I reached down to pick something up, BOOM, I could feel it.

So I’ve been trying to loosen it up the past couple of days with some marginal success. Last night I went to taekwondo and class went fine. I was rather cautious and had no problems, in fact, I think the stretching helped.

Today, I was debating whether or not to run at lunchtime. It had been over a week since I last ran and I wasn’t sure how far or what intensity I could withstand. I settled for running around the track.

While running, I was lamenting about how I had grand hopes about the Darlington Marathon. It goes something like this:

June
I was going to train appropriately for the first time and strive for the goal of a sub four marathon. But then I missed a bunch of runs in the 1st half of July.

July
I could pickup where I left off and strive for the goal of a PR time (4:08:02 or faster). But then I missed a bunch of long runs

August
I could at least finish the marathon. But then I went and tweaked my hamstring

September
Maybe I could do something to make my injury worse and self-sabotage running the marathon at all, so I wouldn’t regret what could have been. But then I stopped feeling sorry for myself.

If I can get one more long run (more than 10 miles) in that would be ideal. Taper schmaper, I don’t need no stinkin’ taper. I’m a Marathon Maniac, we don’t taper. I’ll stretch and rehab as much as I can between now and race day.

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not Yet Defeated

  1. Susan says:

    I like the updated look of the blog!
    Your training looks like mine. 🙂
    You’ll do GREAT. I wish I could be there with ya.

Leave a Reply

