The lamenting taperer

Yesterday, my stomach was in knots… today, it’s not much better. I have that “I FEEL SO HUNGRYYYYYYY” feeling in my stomach but nothing is appealing. Well, except for comfort food. And comfort food to me is chocolate… LOTS of chocolate. But I know that what comforts me now, will ail me in the future. Woe is me!

So then, at dinner last night… my toe begins to hurt. Not just ache but HURT! I was surprised how much it hurt. Then when I got up from the table to leave, my big toe was SORE and it was tough to put weight on it. Before I left the parking lot, I had to take my shoe and sock off and see what was so wrong. Apart from being a little red, there was nothing of note.

When I got home, I tried to get the kids ready for bed, but at some point, I knew that I had to see what was up with my toe. I could see myself with a short fuse if I was upset that my foot was hurting and the kids were not listening.When I took a good look at my toe, there seemed to be some debris on the side of the toe, which was the focal point of the soreness. The toenail was in good shape, so that was good.

I found a tool that resembled a dentist’s tool that I could use to pry into the toe cuticle. My toe was already sore and I was thinking that getting the debris out would be instant relief. But I was wrong! It was still sore. I dug and scraped as best I could without yanking off the toenail (it’s been a couple of marathons since I have lost one, so there is good chance I will still have this after the race). It was still tender and there wasn’t anything that really stood out as being the culprit of the pain. All I can think is that some yard debris had gotten lodged in the cuticle just from jostling of my feet and such.

It was about 10 minutes later that I had a bacterial type scare. I thought “what if it gets infected before the marathon”… 4 hours and 45 minutes of “OUCH, Ahhh, OUCH, Ahhh, OUCH”. So, I took some hydrogren peroxide and poured it over the toe. If was manic about my toe, I was ready for the rubbing alcohol to do it’s killing, if it meant extra pain… I was going to run.

The amount of reaction with the hydrogen peroxide was underwhelming. Being unimpressed, I put the Hydrogen Peroxide back and started to leave the bathoom, toe still sore. Untill… “AH HA, where is that Melaleuca Oil?”

I took the pure melalueca oil and poured it over the wound. My toe felt better, less sore and within 5 minutes, I could walk without noticing my toe. And there was much rejoicing!


Today (as in Friday, as in 2 days away), I am in a weird state. I’m still nervous, I can’t seem to eat. I feel dehydrated. I am beginning to wonder if I can perform well on Sunday. I am having Taper Anxiety! Which reminds me… I need to go make my pace card, so I know what I need to be running and be prepared…Fin

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The lamenting taperer

  1. Petra says:

    YOu will be fine. I cannot predict your race time – it makes me nervous to have to be so precise – but I predict your toenail will still be there. Don’t know why I think this but I do. Call it instinct…

  2. Susan says:

    Toe – ick. I actually LOVE to pour peroxide over stuff. I am a weirdo, what can I say?

    I have never heard of that oil!

    You are doing to do GREAT on Sunday. Just fabulous!

    Chasen and I were just talking about Rocket City…

  3. Marianna says:

    Icky… I just got queasy reading the toe thing.

    Good luck!

    M~

  4. Pete says:

    Terry, you will do well. Your uneasiness stems from wanting to do your pace well to help “your” runners. You know you can do this pace. In fact it is slow for you. The runners you are pacing have to run their race. It is their training that will determine how well they do, not you.

    I hope the toe is better by now. An entire race of pain in the toe would not be fun or good for you.

    Have fun…

Leave a Reply

