About Next Weekend

Today’s run was a practice run of the last 6.5 miles of the Knoxville Marathon in which I am going to be (WAIT, let me go check… 7 Days Out and STILL 4:45 pacer) the pacer for the 4:45 finish group. It has been 3 years since I ran the race and while I usually run on many parts of the Marathon course, I still wanted the practice. Kinda like a Dress-Rehearsal… except, no pace group, no course monitors, no water stations, no crowd support, no course support and bringing DARKNESS and ChAOs… no volunteers.

It felt great, I ran the entire way, non-stop and with ease. I need to see what my pace was, but it was in the 9-10min range. I’ll have 2-3 more runs in this quasi-Taper before the marathon. I did decide on a few things…

  1. I am going to record the entire marathon: I’ll use it for an episode of Gravity@1053 and I will use it as my first episode for my, yet untitled, ASD Athletes podcast.
  2. I will twitter during the marathon, maybe 3 or 4 times depending on how I can manage it. I am incredibly new at Twitter even though it’s been around forever (in techonology years)… We have a twitter set up for ASD Athletes, so I will use that one. @ASDAthletes
  3. I am going to call the phoneline for The Extra Mile podcast and send in a recording while running of my Knoxville Marathon experience. If you are a podcaster and you would like me to call in and leave a comment for you use on your podcast. Please let me know what the number is and I will “put it on the list”. Use the Contact Me in the Top Menu Bar.

Also in the upcoming week, look for the GUESS MY TIME, WIN CRAP contest for the Knoxville Marathon. I will have to change the rules a little (and I can, because I am the supreme universe ruler of the GUESS MY TIME, WIN CRAP contests) since my time SHOULD be 4:45:00 as a result of my Volunteer Position of being a Pacer. I am thinking that we are going to have some sort of “target” or “percent” type contest. I have to think about. I also have to find some crap to give away too… more on that in a day or two.

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in ASD Athletes, podcast, running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to About Next Weekend

  1. ShirleyPerly says:

    I hope you have one or two other pacers with you so they can be the one carrying the sign/balloons. You sound as if you’ll be busy and needing free hands during the race!

  2. Susan says:

    Don’t forget the contest! Hurry up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

