Planet of Terry Update

Howdy folks out there surfing the Intertube! I wanted to lay down a summary post of the stuff that has been going on the past few days.

You might have noticed that there is no update on my running goals for 2009. And that would be a true statement… I don’t know exactly what I am running yet, but I am getting closer to knowing. First of all, I realized that after this weekend, I needed a schedule of the Family. Yeah, I KNOW! Doesn’t the world revovle around running desires? No… darn!

My Lovely and Talented Wife sat down and figured out what the schedule for the Higgins household is going to be for at least through May. This is because all the kids are going to be in school. The Elder, The Younger and The Reliable and Resourceful Au Pair will be in school in some shape or form. This accompained with My Lovely and Talented Wife’s busy schedule, lead to the creation of our Spring 2009 Schedule. Once The Elder is out of school for the summer, things will change, again, for now. But now that I know what I will be doing on what days, I can plan my training more efficiently.

I am also waiting to hear if my application for a pacer for the Knoxville Marathon has been accepted. Since there was a formal application, with open ended questions, I figured that there would be enough opportunity to be declined as a pacer as well as being accepted. I can’t imagine that there is a plethera of people waiting to be pacers… unless there is some perks because they are being sponsored (as I believe) by Fleet Feet. I definitely don’t need ‘The Big Box Store’ shoes… I could always sell them on eBay or something. But the fact of the matter is that I am not running this race, if I am not a pacer. I will volunteer. So, if I don’t get accepted, I am not training… so the sooner that I know if I will be a pacer, the sooner I can start training! They are supposed to announce the people by January 15th… race is on March 29th (My Lovely and Talented Wife’s Birthday – and yes, I did get “clearance” first).

I have been taking pictures in the “spirit” of 365 Days… that is you take (and theoretically post) a picture everyday. I have been taking pictures, but they are still on the camera. That is low on the priority list right now… Posting them, that is. Taking pictures is ALWAYS a high priority, just not always feasible.

ASD Athletes, which is my non-profit organization, is slowlyyy coming along. It has been set aside for some higher priority things, but still exists and is still moving forward… I expect that later this week it will start to pick up steam!

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in Life In General, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Planet of Terry Update

  1. ShirleyPerly says:

    What, the world doesn’t revolve around our running? 😉

    Hope you get selected to be a pacer. I’ve thought about doing that someday but it’d have to be for a marathon I’ve not yet run before which probably disqualifies me. Maybe after I’m doing with my 50 states…

    Happy New Year!

  2. Petra says:

    Great ideas! And I’m still waiting on the family budget to be finalised to see whether I can squeeze in a trip to the US this autumn. Brace yourself for the sub 4!

  3. Susan says:

    Excellent! I love the scheduling aspect of this post. And to be a pacer — you’d be the best one EVER. You’d have everyone smiling from ear to ear!

Leave a Reply

