ASDa Updates

The charity that I am forming went through 1 major event and 1 milestone this past August.

on 08/16/2008 at the Scholar’s Run 5k, ASD Athletes made its racing debut. The Technical shirts that I had made had their debut, and now that I have them, I know that I am going to wear on race day, every race.

080903scholars2 080911run2

Plus, I received notice from the State of Tennessee that ASD Athletes is a non-profit entity based in the grand state of Tennessee. The next step is to send in the proper paperwork to the IRS to become a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization meaning that donations would be tax deductible for those of you in the U.S. (and that itemize).

Plans for the Future:
I am planning on setting up a checking account soon and have that linked to a Paypal account (unless someone knows of a better method). I will be offering the leftover shirts that I have on-hand and set up an online store (much like Cafe Press).

I am also curious out there how charities budget. I don’t want to go blinkly blindly [ed. Thanks Pa-Pa] getting money in and not knowing where it needs to go. Can anyone point me to the annual reports of a charity, it doesn’t really matter the size, I’ll just use percentages.

Sponsoring… I’ve probably missed the fall sports to some degree, but there is the Winter Sports and hopefully have plenty of sponsorships for the Spring Sports. So, if you know of any kids or adult that are on the Autistic Spectrum… keep them in mind when I start taking applications.

I plan on posting more details about all of this on the Official ASD Athletes website (www.asdathletes.org)

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in Life In General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to ASDa Updates

  1. Maddy says:

    Well done you! Can’t help on the charitable front, but most people seem happy with paypal.
    Best wishes

  2. DPeach says:

    Congratulations on getting officially recognized. I know the paperwork can be a pain.

  3. Susan says:

    SUPER! Great work. I look forward to this!

    And the shirt ROCKS!!!!! (blog post forthcoming)

  4. ShirleyPerly says:

    Congrats on the notice! I’ve seen some financial info about charities on JustGive.org which was provided via another site, http://www.GuideStar.org. The latter appears to provide old IRS Form 990 info for free, newer ones at a cost. Maybe you can get some budgeting ideas there.

  5. Samantha says:

    The shirts are great! I wear mine often on runs and everytime I bike. Will continue to spread the word.

    You might hit up my sis on the budgeting stuff. She did most/all of the books for our charity stuff when we did a golf tournament. That was a one time event but we had it in our minds it would be an org so she had all that in progress. You know me and numbers!

    Now if we could all sport your awesome samauri-tail on our runs we’d be in good shape!

Leave a Reply

