Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Week

As some of my regular readers know, my biological father had MS which started sometime when he was in his mid-30s. His degeneration last until April 20, 2006 when his heart finally gave out and he won his battle over MS. I had always wanted to run the Quad Cities Marathon because then he could see me run a marathon. He participated in my Guess My Time contest in March of 2006 for my running of the Knoxville Marathon and commented that “Neither him nor his wheelchair could last the 26.2 miles.”

In one of those weird, almost spooky, coincidence… his cemetery is adjacent to Mile 20 of the Quad City Marathon Course. He is buried in a military cemetery on Rock Island Arsenal and the current course crosses Rock Island as you move from Iowa to Illinois on the marathon course.

It’s my intention to run the Quad City Marathon this late September as a memorial to him and so that my family still in the area can cheer me on while I run. Unfortunately, it’s a long ride in a van or an expensive plane ride and so I am trying to raise money via my trading to finance my trip.

IN the mean time, this is MS Awareness week… so I am doing a little bit to bring awareness to MS!

**********************************

What will you do to move us closer to a world free of MS?
080310mslogoJoin the movement during MS Awareness Week, March 10 – 17!

Whether you are already a part of the movement, or looking to get involved for the first time, MS Awareness Week is the time to show your commitment to ending MS. The MS movement is all about expressing what it means to you to end MS, and every person and every action makes a difference.

Throughout the week look for simple actions you can take by clicking through our Web site. Please also contact your chapter to find out what local activities are taking place during MS Awareness Week.

Remember to continue to check the site throughout the week so you can meet just a few of the millions of people who are a part of the MS movement and making a difference every day.

080310mscalendar
Click on the Image to go to the MS Society Seven Days of Action Website

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in Life In General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Week

  1. dpal says:

    just curious as to how much you would need to raise for your trip.

    • planet3rry says:

      Flying from Knoxville to Moline runs about $450-500 per person, I’d have to rent a car, race hotel & Race registration (which my running budget would cover) plus expenditures.

      I’m thinking that it’ll be in the neighborhood of $2500

      If we drive, then I’ll have to take anywhere between 3-4 days off for traveling, plus that’ll wear me out more for the race. Driving would be Gas, 2 extra hotel nights, race hotel & Race registration (which my running budget would cover) plus expenditures.

      I’m thinking that it’ll be in the neighborhood of $1000

  2. dpal says:

    can I suggest putting up something in your sidebar? I’m sure people wouldn’t mind donating to a good cause such as this. Maybe create a paypal acct or something like that….

  3. planet3rry says:

    I would probably do that if it was in conjunction with a legitimate charity. This is just a “Terry Wants to Do” activity.

  4. dpal says:

    Heck… I think something like “Help support Terry to honor his father in the Quad Cities Marathon” and put a link to this article, or maybe create another page with a full explanation…. I mean, Hell, I’m broke, but I’d donate what I could to the cause. I’m a sucker for father-son heart-wrenchiness.

    • planet3rry says:

      I’ll consider this when I am officially signed up for the race. I don’t want to jump the gun and I wouldn’t start training until May or June. So I’ll put something up then. I think the Quad City Marathon has a little “why I am running QCM” that would fit nicely with a campaign. Of course what makes me sick is that I could have made $3600 today, but I got tripped out and only made $360! Oi!

  5. Petra says:

    Terry – just finally got round to one of your most recent podcasts (not running has meant far less podcast listening) but am thrilled to hear you’re going to use all the lessons learned in Chickamaugua in this year’s marathon. Will be following your progress eagerly!

    And a great cause as well – it’s going to be a meaningful trip for you!

  6. Susan says:

    I sincerely hope that your trading leads you to Quad Cities!

Leave a Reply

