Feeling Like a Natural Woman

2008 has been a very womanly year for me so far… hopefully I won’t start my period anytime soon.

So what’s been going on that has been making me feel like Ms. Planet3rry. Well, if you’ve every listened to my voice via podcasts either Phedippidations, The Extra Mile, or Gravity@1053′, you can tell that I don’t have a super manly voice. I’ll never do voice over work for tough guys or anything like that. ANd this is nothing new, I am actually quite used to it and just roll with it now.

When I attended Longwood, I was a Longwood Ambassador, which is one of those that gives campus tours and other offical university grunt work. One of which was to call alumni. Longwood was an All-Girls school until 1976 and I was calling some older alumni. She finally figured out (because it wasn’t obvious at first) that I was a guy she promptly said “You’re a guy? I bet you are out messing with all the girls.” How she knew that, I don’t know. But she didn’t think that I was a guy.

Rewind to high school. I answered the phone and some guy said that he was a DJ from a radio station and that I had a sexy voice. I tried to tell him that I was a guy and that I liked girls. Had I been more on the ball, I could have really messed with him, but I was trying to follow the rules and tell him like it was.

Fast Forward to the 90s, Burger King drive thru. I place my order, “Drive up to the next window ma’am”. When she saw that I was a guy, you could see her get physically embarrassed and actually apologized. I told her not to worry.

ANytime that I am on the phone and I get nervous or off base, my voice goes up. My Fraternity nickname is Squeeky because my voice sounded like a mouse during the pledge period. So many a times, I have been called Mrs. Higgins, Ma’am and other womanly identifiers over the phone. Just the other day, I told the person that my name was TERRY, but since MLATW’s name is on the account, he called me by her name. I just went with it, it was easier.

However, lately, it seems that my womanly aura must be exuding at a greater intensity.

At the Home Depot in Chattanooga, I went to check out. The cashier was turned away and I said “Can I pay for this here?” She responded before turning around, “Yes, Ma’am” but then quickly apologized when she saw me.

The Kicker… and this is the first time this has happened to me. My hair is longer, but not that long. We are checking out at the Sam’s in Myrtle Beach. MLATW and I are there with the kids and I hand the cashier my Sam’s Card. She looks at the picture (which is about a 4 pixel black and white image) then looks around and looks back at the card and asks, “Is Mr. Terry Higgins here?” *crickets chirping*

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in Life In General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Feeling Like a Natural Woman

  1. Junior Johnson says:

    Its not just me that this happens to….I especially liked the Sam’s incident, you know Wal-Mart always employing the “special” people.

  2. Marianna says:

    I would have smacked the Sam’s cashier upside the head.

    M~

  3. Susan says:

    O. M. G.

    Idiot cashiers!

  4. Leesa says:

    Wow.

    Well I guess that’s better than them asking if one of your parents is with you. 🙂

  5. Petra says:

    Or assuming you’re your own child’s grandparent – not that I’m that grey yet, it hasn’t happened to me.. But it happened to a friend of mine, and she was already having a bad day. It turned into one of those days where she had to have a glass of wine before bathtime…

  6. Stacie says:

    Ouch! People need to pay more attention and not just run on autopilot all the time. Those sams cards photos suck, but not THAT bad!
    Stacie

  7. ShirleyPerly says:

    I once called a very androgynous looking woman a sir. I was terribly embarrassed when I looked at HER race form and saw SHE had checked FEMALE. Honest mistakes happen. I didn’t ask her where Mr. So-and-So was, though!

Leave a Reply

