Primaries, Caucuses and Elections OH MY

Wouldn’t it be COOL if the potential candidates talked some about actual issues… OKay, so there is some talk about issues but it’s more like some high school soap opera musical except without the singing.

With all the new TV shows coming out, there’s nothing else to do except to watch sports and lots and lots of news. Of course, if you are like us… we have pulled the cable out of the wall in our upstairs TV. No, this is not some form of protest against the high prices and low quality of substance on cable. It’s just our low-tech version of the V-chip.

So… to get my news, I surf the web. The witty titles are all I need to see to catchup on world events. Just watching all the primary and caucuses stuff is case in point. I personally don’t want to watch them bicker on TV just to see who is going on to the next round. I’d much rather peruse their websites and other campaign information to make my decision. I do use the news to see who seems to be the front runners, because for this round, it’s better to at least try to vote for the lesser of two evils and then at the big election vote on principal. Or that’s my plan of attack… it might be yours.

But what do you do when you don’t even want to research that stuff… or your a busy mother of 6 just trying to get through the day…

You take a quiz of course!

All you have to do is let Statistics do your thinking for you. After all, we can prove with 95% confidence that we’ll get it right 2 out of 3 times. Who really does any free thinking anymore these days.

So use these to figure how who you are going to send to the Lightning Bonus Round

Quiz 1 From WQAD

Quiz 2 From VAJoe.com

Quiz 3 From Electoral Compass (The New Quiz I added on Jan 16th)

And if you want to be super scientific about it, you can do some non-normality ordinal calculations and try to validate your results.

As for my results:

Out of the Top 4 candidates picked by VaJoe, only 1 of them was in the WQAD results. My Top candidate (albeit in both quizzes was not someone I would actually vote for) was not a match.

Now as a person who has a piece of paper (from a higher institution of education) stating that I know something about statistics other than it’s not spelled ‘sadistics’, I’m going to go to some place quiet and throw up for even suggesting any form of validity to this methodology.

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in funstuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Primaries, Caucuses and Elections OH MY

  1. Marianna says:

    Wow, Terry… this was very cool! I’m going to be passing this on to my friends who are unsure of whom to vote for. Great indicator! Mine was right on…

    M~

  2. Susan says:

    I am absolutely non-political, for the record.

    But did you know that Mike Huckabee is a marathon runner?

  3. Pingback: Another Political Quiz | PLANET3RRY

Leave a Reply

