Limitations of Google

I ran into a wall yesterday as I was migrating our family pictures from Coppermine Gallery to Picasa Web Albums.

Our evolution in web pictures: I originally constructed webpages by hand to host our pictures. Cut and Paste Code to construct the pages, format the pictures, upload, etc.. Then, I found this great tool that built the web albums for me, but I still had to have space to host the albums and I had to upload all the files myself. I could batch resize pictures within the program and all the coding was done for me and such things such as auto-navigation and thumbnails were a nice treat. Next came Coppermine and the other Database-type web albums. You had a TON of options and uploading and constructing the webalbums was much easier. Then, after seeing my brother in law using his Picasa Web Albums from Google, you could just select the pictures you want in a GUI interface and a couple of clicks it was done… I could create 10 albums in about 90 seconds…

However, despite you having a 1 gig of space to use, you can only create 250 web albums. So right now, I am stuck and I still have 750+MB of space left. I can’t make anymore albums unless Google ups the limit or I open another Google account. The latter being that I have to have 2 URLs for our pictures which is something that I want to avoid and was my reason for moving stuff over to Picasa since it was so easy, fast and user friendly.

I have an email to them inquiring about Picasa, so we’ll see…

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in Life In General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Limitations of Google

  1. Susan says:

    I used to use the yahoo albums and LOVED every seond of it because they played like slideshows, and my comments could be seen. Now, since being migrated to Flickr… well, I hate Flickr! I want the ease of Yahoo photo slideshows back. That was so easy. Help! What to use?

  2. Brian Barnes says:

    You know that you can upgrade your Google shared storage, right? https://www.google.com/accounts/Managestorage

    • planet3rry says:

      Brian,

      yes, I do know that you can upgrade storage, but it’s not the AMOUNT of storage that’s the problem. The problem is that Picasa WebAlbums are capped at 250 albums and I need much more…

      I’m using 6% of the space in Picasa
      but I’m using 99% of the albums.

Leave a Reply

