It’s Race Week! Be a Winner

That’s right ladies and germs, it’s race week… and a short race week at that, so let me get to point.

You Guess. I Run. You’ll Probably Lose. But if You Don’t Guess, You Can’t Win.

So what are you going to win this time? Tell them Bob:

071120prize1

There you go! And for my Non-USA entrants, I will get you a prize of equal value and send it to you. How does that sound? So this is the rules. You need to contact me before the 8:30am Eastern Start Time of the Autumnfest 8k with your prediction of my official finishing time for the race. The person with the closest time will be the winner, and that is either under or over my actual time. However, the tie breaker will be the time that was under my actual finishing time because I like you more because you thought I would be faster. In exchange for the win, I will need either your credit card with 3-digit pin code or your mailing address. I can get you a really GREAT gift if you give me both…

If you Guess the EXACT time, I’ll send you a Terry Special: TWO Tickets!

Have no idea WHAT time to give me? Here’s some things to help you pencil in your winning time.

  • My Slowest Time is 42:15 (which was my very first road race in 1998) and my Fastest is 35:49 (1999). My Times for Autumnfest 8k (8 kilometers is equivalent to 5 miles for my non-metricized readers) are as follows: 38:22 (1999), 40:05 (2000), 38:58 (2001), 40:23 (2002), 39:42 (2003), 41:10 (2004), 37:40 (2005), and 37:54 (2006).
  • In 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2002 were all Autumnfests that followed 12 days after a marathon. This year’s race will be 12 days after a marathon.
  • Weather on race day, as of this blog composition is 57F and Chance of Showers.
  • Don’t be afraid to guess something, anything… last time I did this I think I had two people enter… AND two people won! Because I had Two prizes.
About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in funstuff, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to It’s Race Week! Be a Winner

  1. Petra says:

    OK OK. I won last time so I’ve got to enter this time. The Odwalla Bar was almost delicious. So my bet is based on:
    – you’re basically in marathon-pr form
    – you’ve got your crappy post-race run over and done with and won’t shove that into the race
    Sooooohh. I’m putting my money on 36:41. Bring it ON!

  2. Hmmm. This is a toughie. Especially after your amazing marathon time. So… um… 38:26.

  3. Stacie says:

    I’m going to guess 32:16
    Go Terry! You ROCK!

  4. michele says:

    someone stole my 38:26 so I am going 38:27

  5. Susan says:

    37:00 — go Coach go!

  6. My theories are never right but there are reasons in my mind that I feel this might be pushing a PR but I don’t want to jinx that either…. Simonssez…. 35:57.

  7. ShirleyPerly says:

    I’m going to guess 38:40, just because … well, do I really want to say and have others follow my logic? 😉

    Best of luck!!

  8. Pingback: All the Cool Kids are doing it | PLANET3RRY

  9. Pingback: The Autumnfest Tune Up | PLANET3RRY

  10. MarathonChris says:

    Like Petra, i was a winner last time and the bar was good!!!

    My vote is for 37:48

    Go Terry go!!!

Leave a Reply

