Beating the weather

The weather people say that we have 100% chance of weather. Judging by the picture, I would say that the odds are heavily in their favor.

070213weather01

And once the storm front hits, we are expecting a drop by about 10 degrees. So, I am going to go run today and try to beat the wet weather. If I can run in upper40s/low 50s that’s much more fun than having to run tomorrow in mid 30s. Of course, it’ll blow my pre race mini taper period of 2 days – WAIT – today is Tuesday! I have been thinking that it’s Wednesday all day long! So, I am good to go! Sweet!

070213weather02

***

I did not beat the weather. With about 1/2 mile to go, the rain started. The good thing was that it was a light rain and not that cold. So it all worked out, except my pacing… AGAIN!

I wanted to do a nice easy pace of 9:00 min miles, maybe even slower. Well, I was much better at being close to desired pace, but I was a little off. I chose a new route to hopefully get a 3.0 mile course, but after mapping it, it was only 2.88 mile. Dang an extra block and I would have been golden.

My overall pace was a 8:45 and based on my watch times, I must have been somewhat consistent (YAY!) in my pacing. I talked with Marty yesterday and we will run most of Strawplains together, so hopefully we will be on a decent pace of 9:00-9:15 minute miles.

When I get an break from my Tuna paper, I will update you on the home front…

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in Life In General, running. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Beating the weather

  1. Marianna says:

    Our temps took a nose dive from this morning. It’s absolutely COLD out there!

    M~

  2. sam says:

    You call that weather?! We haven’t climbed above freezing in 6 weeks or more! Ha ha!

    At least you got your run in, and are on a roll. Can’t wait for the race update!

    Back to my lecture…I don’t think I’m cut out for this grad school stuff!

  3. Leesa says:

    It’s snowing here today, and my driveway is an ice skating rink.

    And.. Marianna doesn’t know what cold is 😛

  4. planet3rry says:

    [quote comment=”1981″]Our temps took a nose dive from this morning. It’s absolutely COLD out there!

    M~[/quote]

    What is it? 60F?

  5. planet3rry says:

    [quote comment=”1991″]You call that weather?! We haven’t climbed above freezing in 6 weeks or more! Ha ha!

    At least you got your run in, and are on a roll. Can’t wait for the race update!

    Back to my lecture…I don’t think I’m cut out for this grad school stuff![/quote]

    So are you enjoying the Permafrost?

    Thanks for the vote of confidence on the running. Perhaps, it is not as bad as I thought!

    Give Grad school a chance, it’s not that bad once you get back into the rhythm…

  6. planet3rry says:

    [quote comment=”1992″]It’s snowing here today, and my driveway is an ice skating rink.

    And.. Marianna doesn’t know what cold is :P[/quote]

    More snow? Sheesh… are you going to skate to the airport?

  7. Mary says:

    [quote comment=”1994″][quote comment=”1991″]You call that weather?! We haven’t climbed above freezing in 6 weeks or more! Ha ha!

    At least you got your run in, and are on a roll. Can’t wait for the race update!

    Back to my lecture…I don’t think I’m cut out for this grad school stuff![/quote]

    So are you enjoying the Permafrost?

    Thanks for the vote of confidence on the running. Perhaps, it is not as bad as I thought!

    Give Grad school a chance, it’s not that bad once you get back into the rhythm…[/quote]

    Are you joking? No really Grad school SUCKS, however the payoff is worth it in the end. Besides if you were not cut out for it – they wouldn’t have let you in, so hang in there!

  8. planet3rry says:

    [quote comment=”2010″][quote comment=”1994″][quote comment=”1991″]You call that weather?! We haven’t climbed above freezing in 6 weeks or more! Ha ha!

    At least you got your run in, and are on a roll. Can’t wait for the race update!

    Back to my lecture…I don’t think I’m cut out for this grad school stuff![/quote]

    So are you enjoying the Permafrost?

    Thanks for the vote of confidence on the running. Perhaps, it is not as bad as I thought!

    Give Grad school a chance, it’s not that bad once you get back into the rhythm…[/quote]

    Are you joking? No really Grad school SUCKS, however the payoff is worth it in the end. Besides if you were not cut out for it – they wouldn’t have let you in, so hang in there![/quote]

    I’ve been through Grad School twice… if you think about it as under-grad but with a little bit more, you are golden.

Leave a Reply

