Go Paperless, Plant a Tree

which translates to “Let us guilt you into cutting our costs” or that’s how I see it…

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for trees. The more, the better. I am for being Green, just look at blog colors. I try to use the Greener Flourescent bulbs in my house. Hell, I pay to recycle at my house and I go out of the way to recycle cardboard and mixed paper. In fact, one of the errands I have to do is to dump my cardboard off at the recycle place this afternoon. So don’t label me as a nature hater.

So here’s what landed in my inbox this morning:

070111tree070111tree2

Trees play a major role in keeping our environment healthy. To put things in perspective, a single tree can — in one day — provide oxygen for up to four people and discharge up to 100 gallons of water from the ground into the air. And in one year, the tree can absorb 16.87 pounds of carbon dioxide.
By switching to Paperless Statements, not only will you be conserving a vital natural resource, Citi will also plant a new tree on your behalf. For more information, click here.
Plus, enjoy the benefits of going paperless:

Reduce paper clutter by viewing your statements online
Access your transaction information anywhere, anytime
View and print current and past statements, up to six months


Enrolling in Paperless Statements is easy. It’s free. And it’s for a good cause. So what are you waiting for? Just click on the button below and sign up for Paperless Statements.

Marketeers are good… They should have mentioned how going paperless will stop global warming…

Even though I poke fun at this email, at least they (the big huge credit card company) are doing something for the betterment of the entire world. I had one credit card company force me to go paperless and then I had to do a roundabout in the menus to get my paper copy back.

I need my paper copy. To receive it in the mail is more reliable than for me to logon and print a copy of my statement, even though I sit at the computer almost all day and most of the night.

Well, off to recycle my 30lbs of cardboard…

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in Life In General. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Go Paperless, Plant a Tree

  1. Leesa says:

    I recycle cardboard, cans and glass. I can’t find anywhere local for plastic though.
    And I plant trees!

    Guess I’m on the good list 😛

  2. Leesa says:

    Oh! And newspapers and magazines!

    I should get a star. yeah..I should.

  3. Marianna says:

    Oh yes. Run & give Leesa a STAR! 😛

    When I was stationed in Germany, we used to recycle EVERYTHING. Glass was broken down by color ~ brown, clear, green… we recycled paper, cardboard, styrofoam, plastic and anything else that wasn’t food-based. My trash used to consist of a little bag every week. It was kinda cool. I wish we did that here.

    M~

  4. John says:

    I support tree farmers.

Leave a Reply

