Sundazical

Our meeting time this morning for breakfast was much later than previous days. I was able to sleep the sleep I needed and get with plenty of time to shower.

Today, we just ate at the hotel restaurant, which is a little overpriced. But at least it is good food… we had been thinking that there was going to be a buffet, but no… pankcakes with maple syrup and cinnamon butter. After Breakfast we came back to our rooms only to venture out shortly after arriving to try to exchange the guys shorts once again.

Forsgren’s was closed on Sunday. Actually, a lot of things were closed on Sunday, Church is very important on the island and most of Sunday is filled with services. Here is a email that I sent to my preacher back in Knoxville:

Currently, I am 3000 miles southwest of Hawaii on the US territory of American Samoa. I am here on business for UT doing contract work for the Department of Labor. The island is very small, 77 square miles, and most of it is comprised of a mountain ridge of coconut and banana trees. The harbor is a sunken volcano and has the largest and deepest natural harbor in the Pacific. If you have ever had a can of tuna by either Starkist or Chicken of the Sea… it originated here.

The Samoans are a very religious people and by the multitude of churches (more churches per capita than Knoxville), they are pretty much all of the Christian faith in one way shape or form. So I am out on the balcony of my hotel room this morning and I hear this music playing… and it seems, familiar. I listen a little closer to try to make out the lyrics and I know this song, I know that SML has played it, but what is the name of the song! I can even see people in SML doing the hand gestures to the different verses. What was cool was that the music was being played live, just like in SML. Boom then, it hits me, it’s the song Lift Your Name on High! For a split second the world didn’t seem to be so far apart…

SML is Sunday Morning Light, which is the contemporary service. And by contemporary Service I mean electronic keyboard player, Sax player, Electric Guitar, PowerPoint-type presentation. Lots of singing, and even video clips of movies from movies like Phenomenon, Star Wars, The Terminal and many others.

While we were already out, we decided to go to the eastern most side of the island that we could reach and see what shells were lying out on the beach. And when I say “beach” I mean a loose gathering of rocks and sand. Here is a picture…

We stopped by the Chinese restaurant on the way back from our travels… oh, speed limit on the entire island is 25 mph and really there is only a few straight aways that you might get to 35mph before having to slow back down.

Back at the hotel, we decided to just stay in our rooms until 7-8pm when we’d meet again for dinner. Richard knocked on my door saying that he’d found a set of jumper cable, since his car’s battery had died the night before. So I went down and helped start his car and came back to the hotel to do some housekeeping on the computer. Of course, as I type this, there are other things that I could be doing that we, uh, more productive. But you know what, I don’t want to forget anything and I will be sleeping soon…

I did run on the tread mill at a Tempo type pace. But that’s all I am going to say about that.
we ate dinner tonight at Checkers the hamburger place that you would find in the States. It was fine. Nothing special. We sat around chatting about the survey a little bit and debated on whether they were going to get some luggage tonight. Once back at the hotel room, I finished some more email as well as recorded the core of my next episode of Gravity@1053, my running podcast.

So, now I am just waiting for us to go to the Hawaiian Airlines baggage claim to see if their luggage is here…

****************************

Success! The boys have gotten their bags, intact!

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in Life In General, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Sundazical

  1. Leesa says:

    Where are the photos man??

  2. jank says:

    Wow – American Samoa? What a cool, cool place to get to go.

  3. Marianna says:

    Yeah, I agree with Leesa!

    Hey, what are the temps averaging there? It looks very pleasant.

    M~

  4. piglet says:

    Do you do any work there or is it all just eating and shopping? Where do I sign up for this job? Rough life dude!

  5. planet3rry says:

    [quote comment=”349″]Where are the photos man??[/quote]

    The photos are coming! The weather has been crappy to take pictures but I have a few I’ll put together.

  6. planet3rry says:

    [quote comment=”351″]Wow – American Samoa? What a cool, cool place to get to go.[/quote]

    It’s very interesting to see a polynesian place that is all American but not touristry like Hawaii…

  7. DPeach says:

    Tell me about Checkers. Here in Mexico we have Checkers too, but not quite like back in the US. Ours are not drive up only. They are like a Burger King or McDonald’s with a dining room and playplace. I am curious as to what they have there.

  8. planet3rry says:

    [quote comment=”353″]Do you do any work there or is it all just eating and shopping? Where do I sign up for this job? Rough life dude![/quote]

    We’ll eventually do some work, but really… it’s the South Pacific…

  9. planet3rry says:

    [quote comment=”358″]Tell me about Checkers. Here in Mexico we have Checkers too, but not quite like back in the US. Ours are not drive up only. They are like a Burger King or McDonald’s with a dining room and playplace. I am curious as to what they have there.[/quote]

    They have a drive through and a sit down area inside/outside. No playground though. I think it’s the only place on American Samoa to get a true hotdog…

Leave a Reply

