When the click is successful

Some of you out there know that I have a love of photography. In fact, had I a chance to redo my whole college career, (based on what I like now) I would have been a Photography Major with a concentration in Exercise Science or maybe Sports Communication with a minor in photography. Screw all that Science/Math/Nuclear Engineering/Statistics crap… who believes in that made-up crap anyway…

High on my wishlist is to get a Digital SLR camera. Not the fancy point and shoot but the “I’m an amatuer who doesn’t want to shell out $2500 on a camera”. I’m looking at the current equivalent level of the Canon 20D/Nikon D70; but that’s about $1000 for the camera base alone let alone any basic lenses or even the fancy ones.

So, right now I am using an old fashion (pre Compact Disk, when vinyl was King) SLR. It’s a Canon AV-1 which uses 35mm film and you have to manually advance the film after each picture. It terms of technology it’s the 5lb mobile phone… but it works… thanks to Science and Math.

Since it takes 35mm film, I have to purchase said film and I have to get it developed. Currently, I purchase 400 speed film (good speed for most applications) at Sam’s and I send the roll away to York for development. I send it off because it’s way more convenient to send it out than try to plan going to wal-mart/sam’s/walgreens. I put it in a mailer, and eventually, I get my prints back and it runs me waiting 7-10 days and $6.60.

It’s like Christmas when one comes in because I forget what roll is what and so I am as surprised to see the content of my labors. Usually, out of a 24 roll film, there are 3-4 that I really like, 10 that are marginal, but I can tell there was a better shot, 5 that are “whatever” and the rest just suck. They are either bad shots, blurry… something.

Well, the roll that came in the mail yesterday was something out of the norm… they were of our trip to the Smoky National Park on October 7th and just after it

061024pix01

061024pix02

061024pix03

061024pix04

061024pix05

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in Life In General. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to When the click is successful

  1. Matt says:

    What kind of filter are you using on your camera? With a good 15 dollar filter you can diffuse those shimmers off the water, etc and make your prints a lot sharper. One of the best inexpensive upgrades you can do with your camera. Also, don’t worry too much about having and “old” camera. I’ve found my prints come out much better using an old Pentax K1000 than any of the newer high priced digitals. Btw, I enjoy the site. I’ve been reading almost daily for around 2 months now. Something about seeing someone else chronicle their running experience that makes me want to go out on those days I just can’t seem to get motivated. Keep up the good work and Go Vols. I’m in Cookeville, TN in case I forgot to mention it.

  2. planet3rry says:

    [quote comment=”199″]What kind of filter are you using on your camera? With a good 15 dollar filter you can diffuse those shimmers off the water, etc and make your prints a lot sharper. One of the best inexpensive upgrades you can do with your camera. Also, don’t worry too much about having and “old” camera. I’ve found my prints come out much better using an old Pentax K1000 than any of the newer high priced digitals. Btw, I enjoy the site. I’ve been reading almost daily for around 2 months now. Something about seeing someone else chronicle their running experience that makes me want to go out on those days I just can’t seem to get motivated. Keep up the good work and Go Vols. I’m in Cookeville, TN in case I forgot to mention it.[/quote]

    Filter, BRILLIANT! I hadn’t even thought about that… okay… I know that I can go to the local photography store and get something that’ll work.

    I’m glad that you like the site. I have approved your comment, so your comments will go up automatically from now on. How much running do you do? Any good races in Cookeville?

    Go Vols, Beat Carolina (I mean, Spurrier)

  3. Leesa says:

    I have filters on mine too. They also protect the lens.
    I upgraded from the 20D to the 5D.. I hear the 20D are going for pretty good prices right now.
    I’ve heard good things about the D70, but I don’t know anyone personally that has one.

    I love love love the 5D.. but it is a pricey camera. And then after that, you get addicted to different lenses. I now have my eye on a fisheye 🙂

  4. Michael says:

    Excellent shots… even if you did use a dino-cam… 😉

  5. darrell says:

    cool pix and cute kids.
    My son just pulled out my old K1000 from the top of the closet and snapped a roll. It will be interesting to see what comes out. He loves to take pix with our little Cannon Powershot SD400. Maybe I should steer him toward photojournalism.

  6. Marianna says:

    I like your pics. Your kiddos are so cute!

    M~

  7. planet3rry says:

    [quote comment=”203″]cool pix and cute kids.
    My son just pulled out my old K1000 from the top of the closet and snapped a roll. It will be interesting to see what comes out. He loves to take pix with our little Cannon Powershot SD400. Maybe I should steer him toward photojournalism.[/quote]

    It’s definitely a very flexible career… I always thought it would be neat to travel to all those exotic places and take pictures.

  8. John says:

    Those are some great shots.

    Math it’s a funny thing. How many poor photographers were made average photographers because they could take a 100 digital photos without worrying about wasting film to get those 2-3 great shots? /waves hand

  9. DPeach says:

    That second shot is terrific Terry.

    Looks like you got some keepers there.

  10. your babies are soooo cute…

    excellent pics!

    I still use a 35mm camera.
    I find the cheap digital I have is useless and it is always blurry.

Leave a Reply

