Best Intentions

Well, I screwed today’s normal swim day to a run day. And remember yesterday when I said that I didn’t need to run fast…yeah, I screwed that up too… oh well. But check out my first mile time. Yes, sir or ma’am that is an official PR time for the mile on an unofficial course!

I thought for sure that it was going to be one of those days where you think you are running fast only to realize you aren’t. Well, today was NOT one of those days… I knew I was running fast and I thought, what the hell. So hence the PR time, but I paid for it in the last mile. I didn’t have enough steam to make that mile count.

This tells me that I am not quite where I want to be for my December 5k but it does tell me that I am getting faster and more endurance at a faster speed. I have 3 weeks until the 5k, so I probably have 15 days of effective speed training or rather 2 speed sessions left. Next week, I’ll do a track workout, hopefully around a 7 min mile but not as fast as today. I can already tell that my legs are sore, but I will run a slow 4 tomorrow and swim on Thursday and take Friday off before the race on Saturday Morning.

Split Split Distance Overall Distance Split Time Split Pace Overall Time Overall Pace Comments
1 1.0 1.0 6:45 6:45 It’s a PR
2 1.0 2.0 7:34 14:19 7:10 &nbsp
3 1.0 3.0 9:11 23:30 7:50 &nbsp

Upcoming Races:
11/12 Chickamauga 10 miler (Chickamauga, Ga), Goal time: 1:26:00
11/24 Autumnfest 8k (Knoxville, TN), Goal time 37:30
12/04 Reindeer Run 5k (Maryville, TN), Goal time 21:55
(indicates potential Personal Record for distance)

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in Life In General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

