Richmond Marathon 2000

2000-11-18richmond

Training Motto: Deja Two
My training campaign was called “Deja Two”. And was it! I hit the wall at the same place and I finished about the same time. Overall I started slower than last year, which was actually my plan all along. Do some negative splits and I would have plenty of juice at the end to finish strong (i.e. 3:55 or so). No such luck, I was VERY inconsistent the first 6-7 miles. My pace per mile was nothing short of a catholic mass, up down- up down. By mile 9 or so I was in a grove and more relaxed. I was also having shoe problems, they didn’t feel right nor would they stay laced. I couldn’t understand it, they had been my training shoes for the marathon and on race day (of all days) they were part of my bad race day. By mile 14 I could feel my legs starting to go. Why so I early I thought? I had even been eating GUs for energy. I dunno.

I met Gray (like the color) at mile 19 and by then, my legs were shot! I also wanted to run barefoot because my shoes where pissing me off! I struggled through the last 6.2 miles by stretching my legs at least twice a mile, if not more. So I finished at 4:18:31. Like I told myself at mile 7, not every race has to be a PR. I won’t mention my shoe problems I had, oops I already did. They saw Gray’s trash can as soon as we got home.

About planet3rry

Marathoner, A Terry of all trades
This entry was posted in running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

